What is TEFANZ

Teacher Education Forum of Aotearoa New Zealand (TEFANZ) was officially launched on 12 July 1999 as the national voice for teacher education in Aotearoa New Zealand.

TEFANZ members represent New Zealand providers who offer teacher education programmes at degree or graduate level. The current host institution for TEFANZ is the University of Waikato, for the years 2014-2019 inclusive.

The purpose of the TEFANZ is

  • to promote the development of research-informed programmes of teacher education,
  • to promote teaching as a graduate profession,
  • to develop partnerships within the teaching profession and with the education community, and
  • to promote the means to implement its commitment to the Treaty of Waitangi.

The association aims to provide a national voice for teacher education issues in the political and policy arena by regularly consulting with the Ministry of Education and government agencies. Another stated aim is to improve the public perception of teacher education and the education profession. TEFANZ does not represent the institutional interests of its members but is instead focused on issues of quality in teacher education, with the intention of speaking on behalf of important professional and research-informed issues in education.


Rosina is the Director of Teaching, learning and Research for Te Rito Maioha (ECNZ). She has the overall responsibility for the oversight and management of academic and research strategy for undergraduate, graduate and post graduate programmes, and manages the quality, compliance and national consistency of teaching, learning and research delivery of Te Rito Maioha (ECNZ) qualifications.


Executive Members:

Prof. Alex Gunn works at Te Kura Ākau Taitoka, University of Otago College of Education and has served TEFANZ on executive since 2014.  Alex is immediate past chair.



Jae is Associate Dean Teacher Education and senior lecturer at Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington. Jae began her career as a primary teacher in Christchurch and has a background in applied linguistics and teaching English as an additional language. She researches about diversity, social justice and culturally and linguistically responsive pedagogies, and disciplinary literacies.

Hiria is Partner Head of School, Teacher Education, Faculty of Education, Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington. Hiria is a senior lecturer with extensive experience in working with practicing teacher, postgraduate students and teacher trainees in the areas of mātauranga Māori, te reo Māori, science and technology, critical pedagogies, education for sustainability.

Ko Tainui te waka, Ko Tararua te maunga, Ko Otaki te awa, Ko Ngāti Raukawa te iwi,          Ko Ngāti Huia te hapu, Ko Raukawa te marae, Ko Tui Summers taku ingoa

Tui has developed considerable experience due to various roles over 25+ years in ECE, including as a student, lecturer, in policy and evaluation, director of academic programmes and academic leader. In February 2022 Tui submitted her doctoral thesis, which focused on leadership and identity.

Kirsten Petrie is an Associate Professor, and currently the Associate Dean Academic, in Te Wānangā Toi Tangata Division of Education at The University of Waikato. She has a national and international reputation as a leader in the area of health and physical education (HPE) relating to teacher development (pre and in-service), curriculum and policy, and inclusive practice. While her research is focused on HPE in primary school contexts, she has continued to make links and contribute to understandings of HPE as it relates to ECE and secondary school contexts. In leading national funded research programmes, Kirsten has demonstrated a commitment to furthering the way HPE is understood, reimagined, and delivered across education settings in Aotearoa.  

Eunice is a lecturer in Teacher Education and the programme leader of AUT’s Master of Teaching and Learning and Postgraduate Diploma of Teaching and Learning programmes. She is a trained primary school teacher, having worked with learners from early primary through to intermediate school. She has specialist knowledge and experience in inclusive education, including supporting gifted and talented learners. Eunice’s research intersects the fields of sociology, gifted and talented education, girlhood studies and media studies. She currently hold the role of TEFANZ treasurer.

Dr Emily Nelson is an Associate Professor in Education at Eastern Institute of Technology. Her research interests include implications of innovative learning environments for preservice teacher education, practice-based teacher education, student voice and power. Emily has worked as an educator, consultant and researcher across primary, middle schooling and tertiary contexts within Aotearoa New Zealand. She is the 2022 recipient of the TEFANZ Emerging Leadership in Teacher Education Award.